EAGLE Central Forums
Where the CadSoft EAGLE community meets.

Home » CadSoft Support Forums » eagle.support.eng » Can't Copy Symbol To Edit?
Can't Copy Symbol To Edit? [message #117305] Wed, 04 March 2009 21:33 Go to next message
Doug White
Messages: 1
Registered: March 2009
Junior Member
I want to create a symbol for an Amp MTE connector, which is similar to the
MT connector series, but it needs mounting holes. I can open the library
and find the symbol I want (L02P), but I can't copy it to the clipboard to
paste into my own library for editing. Is this locked for some reason, or
am I missing something?

Thanks!

Doug White
Re: Can't Copy Symbol To Edit? [message #117308 is a reply to message #117305] Thu, 05 March 2009 03:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jrafetseder
Messages: 688
Registered: October 2004
Senior Member
Did you use Eagle's Group, Cut & Paste procedure? The wine$ standard does
_not_ work! See manual, tutorial & online help for more details.
r
Re: Can't Copy Symbol To Edit? [message #117314 is a reply to message #117305] Thu, 05 March 2009 08:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Joern Paschedag
Messages: 1133
Registered: August 2008
Senior Member
Doug White schrieb:
> I want to create a symbol for an Amp MTE connector, which is similar to the
> MT connector series, but it needs mounting holes. I can open the library
> and find the symbol I want (L02P), but I can't copy it to the clipboard to
> paste into my own library for editing. Is this locked for some reason, or
> am I missing something?
>
> Thanks!
>
> Doug White
>
>
Open YOUR library and keep it OPEN.
Go into the control panel, klick the "+" to see the contents of the
library(s), pick the device you want to copy, rightklick it, then choose
"copy to library" from the opening dialog.

--
Gruß / regards

Jörn
Re: Can't Copy Symbol To Edit? [message #117321 is a reply to message #117314] Thu, 05 March 2009 18:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gwhite
Messages: 3
Registered: March 2009
Junior Member
Keywords:
In article <goolk1$h79$1@cheetah.cadsoft.de>, Joern Paschedag <jpaschedag@t-online.de> wrote:
>Doug White schrieb:
>> I want to create a symbol for an Amp MTE connector, which is similar to the
>> MT connector series, but it needs mounting holes. I can open the library
>> and find the symbol I want (L02P), but I can't copy it to the clipboard to
>> paste into my own library for editing. Is this locked for some reason, or
>> am I missing something?
>>
>> Thanks!
>>
>> Doug White
>>
>>
>Open YOUR library and keep it OPEN.
>Go into the control panel, klick the "+" to see the contents of the
>library(s), pick the device you want to copy, rightklick it, then choose
>"copy to library" from the opening dialog.

Worked like a charm! Thanks!

Doug White
Re: Can't Copy Symbol To Edit? [message #117322 is a reply to message #117308] Thu, 05 March 2009 18:24 Go to previous message
gwhite
Messages: 3
Registered: March 2009
Junior Member
Keywords:
In article <goo1ki$j6d$1@cheetah.cadsoft.de>, "Ing. J.M. Rafetseder" <jrafetseder@hotmail.com> wrote:
>Did you use Eagle's Group, Cut & Paste procedure? The wine$ standard does
>_not_ work! See manual, tutorial & online help for more details.

That's what I tried, but after grouping the symbol, the "cut' option
isn't available. However, Joern Paschedag's suggestion for copying
directly to my library worked.

Thanks!

Doug White
Previous Topic: Newbie: Changing Line Width on finished PCB
Next Topic: Package in use error revisited
Goto Forum: